Sunday Failwhale

Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong. Today I came in knowing that our internet filter was down and that the server that hosts our website had also crashed. What I wasn’t expecting was that our PC Reservation system had decided to take a swandive. In addition to that, when I went to boot up our ILS software I had found that that too was down.

The circulation clerks had to do manual circulation. Our catalog was down, so I had to get creative when people asked for help finding items. We couldn’t place holds, check user accounts, or check items back in.

The isn’t anyone at the helpdesk on Sundays at our library system. I’m wondering if at 4:00 p.m. on Friday, when the server crashed, the IT person said “Screw it, I’m going home in an hour” and ignored the problem hanging us all out to dry for the weekend, leaving this many libraries without service —>

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

