A Day in the Life – 7/31/2010

On Fridays I work as a part-time reference librarian. I typically work 16 – 21 hours a week there. This was my first job working in a public library. I am one of three reference librarians among a staff of approximately 30. The community is small and people generally shake my hand after I help them.

I woke up this morning at 7:10 a.m. exhausted. I had an 11 hour workday yesterday split between two other library jobs. After a 1 hour commute I found out that I needed to be in a meeting at 9:30. I gathered my notes, drank a bottle of water and went into the meeting.

I’m nearly finished with the website redesign and we’re bringing someone in to clean up my code and help us transition from the old site to the new site. The web guy reassured us that the new site didn’t need much work at all and that it could be ready to go live soon. I was happy that a web design professional said that my site looked good.

After the meeting I went straight to a busy reference desk until lunch. The most common questions have to do with our catalog, museum passes, and computer help. After lunch I went back to the reference desk for a mixture of reference, web tweeking, book display setup, and experimenting with a trial package from Bookletters (which I’ll talk about soon).

Before I knew it I had to make my first closing announcement and start to close up shop for the day. This mostly involves shutting down computers, copiers, and talking to people that were wearing headphones during my announcements. As the reference librarian I am responsible for closing the building on Fridays. There are a lot of people that think the library should be open later than 5 p.m. on Fridays. I’m not one of them.

I stopped at Jewel to pick up some things and then sat in traffic for 2 hours. I didn’t get home til 7:15, which meant that I sat in traffic for 3 hours today. I left work today feeling … behind.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

